The Basics of Our Misconception: A Culture of Surface

The phrase

“Scratching the surface”

is a good place to start for me when I think about my problems.

Many of my problems feast on my sanity when I do nothing more than scratch the surface of my issues.

“Scratching the surface” is meant to depict itself as a first step towards understanding something…not as a whole process of understanding something.

I believe we are surrounded by the idea that “scratching the surface” is all it takes to understand issues, problems, and situations.

In other words, it’s easy for the human being to believe he or she has found the “why” or “how” regarding their issues or a circumstance by simply scratching the surface.

In a fast-paced, stimulating environment, we take what we feel and what we think and embrace it all as the root of an issue, rather than as the fruition or symptom of a deeper issue.

Here’s an elementary example:

someone calls you a name, and you are offended.

Scratching the surface:

you feel offended because someone called you a name

Digging Deeper:

You have forgotten that your idea of who you are cannot be shaken, whether or not someone calls you a name.
Because you have forgotten that who you are does not change whether or not someone else calls you a name, your feelings of offense take over and you put the blame completely on the person who put together a few letters into an understandable word in order to steal your joy.

Here’s another example:

Scratching the Surface:

I am scared of swimming in this lake because I might drown.

Digging Deeper:

I do not believe in myself and my ability to learn how to swim. Thus, when I see a lake, I get scared.

The first line of thinking merely draws you away from the lake.

The second line of thinking inspires you to take action…What can you do to learn how to swim? What can you do to face your fear?

What sort of beliefs in you cause you to think the way you do?

Another example:

Scratching the surface:

Even though I’m working hard and getting things done on time, I am stressed out because I have a lot of school work

Digging deeper

If I am working hard and getting things done on time, I must be stressed out because I am thinking about the futuree. I am stressed out because I don’t believe I can work just as hard tomorrow as I have been today. I am stressed out because I believe that even if I didn’t get anything done, I would literally, physically, eternally, die. I am stressed out because I trust in the grade and system for success more than I do myself. 

scratching the surface does not think about the “who” of the situation. It thinks all about the “what” and attributes WHAT happened to how you feel.

Digging deeper addresses your own thinking about yourself. 

Begin digging deeper by:

LOOKING INSIDE YOURSELF instead of LOOKING AT THE SITUATION

NEXT ENTRY:

Letting Go of What’s Inside You (PART 1)

One thought on “The Basics of Our Misconception: A Culture of Surface

  1. Very good subject. “The rabbit hole” is just a mean name for digging deeper. I would rather call it searching behind the rainbow XD Although you cannot compare a bag of gold to the ultimate reward of bliss. Anyways, like it, and I love digging. And it brings great joy to me seeing others digging as well haha. There is always another layer. As I often say, “truth is a web linking everything together. Webs are strong, hard to see, and usually when people get close to one they run or try swatting it away.” The more you dig, the more doors that open to you, and the more you see everything is connected.

    I also compare people’s wisdom to water. Water respects all other water, yet an ocean supports more life than a puddle. I think everyone needs the truth, and therefore I try to share what I learn with others, while a;so attempting to inspire them to seek the truth on their own. Anyways, cool blog dude, glad I could check it out! 😀

Leave a Reply

