My Old Philosophy and my New

My old Philosophy:

Wait for the answer within. From God. or From without. From people who believe in God. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Enjoy the experiences you don’t control, the lucky moments. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Enjoy the next experience you don’t control, the lucky moment. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Wait. Repeat. Die with regrets.

My new philosophy:

Take care of myself (grow in knowledge, love my body, find people who inspire me). Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Take care of myself. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Take care of myself. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Take care of myself. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Do. Act. Repeat until the honorable death.

5 thoughts on “My Old Philosophy and my New

    • Hmm me too. I don’t think I made clear what I meant by answers, though. What I meant by answers wasn’t in an abstract sense…it’s impossible to find all those answers. I meant in a “what to do next” sense. What to do with my life. What to do today. What to eat. What to do next.

      • That’s fair, but if you look at things from the perspective of historical faith and the Bible I feel that that has more to do with your perspective of faith than what Christian faith actually is. God meets people where they are as they actively pursue his will. There’s a story in Acts about how Paul was trying to pass through Asia but was stopped by the Holy Spirit. It’s not a story of passivity, but personal action. He had strong personal goals and did his best to follow through on those goals, only by trying to achieve those things could he gain spiritual input telling him not too. Even Abraham, who waited a hundred years for a son, did not wait passively. But actively pursued God as he waited. There’s a difference between passive waiting and active waiting, and if you’re waiting is passive than I can understand why you would die with regrets. But actively waiting for God is not a pathway that leads to regret.

      • I just saw this response now…

        I agree with you.. it’s about perspective. I never indicated in my post that the issue was inherently the christian doctrine. The issue was in MY philosophy (hence the title). My perspective. The way I perceived things. The reason i used the word “God” is because that is the language my mind spoke in at that point in time of my life.

        Either way, I had perceived life to be an opportunity to “passively” wait as you put it.

        To be honest, the point of my original post was to project what exactly I had said to myself at that point in time of my life. It was not to tear apart the Christian doctrine, or claim that the Christian faith caused my issues. Although I do think the way I was taught it, and the way I perceived it caused issues. Perspective, as you have said.

Leave a Reply

